OliKrom: a painting that illuminates the roads at night

The startup from Gironde OliKrom has developed a phosphorescent paint that shines at night.

Another bright idea for the company specializing in smart pigments that react to heat, impact and chemicals.

“It’s fabulous, it looks like a trick,” Mayor of Pessac (Gironde) is enthusiastic. Since October, the two kilometers of cycle track that crosses an undergrowth in the district of Saige, is turning into a shining path after-dark. The darker it is, the more it shines! The secret of this magic? A phosphorescent painting invented by the OliKrom startup. “It contains chemical pigments that absorb sunlight and restore it at night,” says Jean François Létard, its founder. “We can see the road between 50 and 100 meters more than with traditional signage” adds the director, former research director at the Institute of Condensed Matter Chemistry of Bordeaux (ICMCB), dependent on the CNRS. The phosphorescent effect lasts about ten hours, enough to hold all night. The formula of the painting, whose implementation has been entrusted to Eiffage, is classified top secret.

The phosphorescent paint invented by the Olikrom startup contains pigments that illuminate the road up to 100 meters. © Olikrom

The phosphorescent paint invented by the Olikrom startup contains pigments that illuminate the road up to 100 meters. © Olikrom

Avoid electrical wiring work

Phosphorescent paint is now awaiting approval for road marking. “We will be able to equip all the places at risk, such as crosswalks, donkeys, dangerous bends, bus stops or highway ramps,” says Jean Francois Létard. Ideal also in small villages, country roads often poorly lit, or to delimit the parking spaces. The price per liter is of course higher, “but it can not be compared with a simple white paint”, insists Jean François Létard. “Our paint avoids all infrastructure costs such as wiring to pass the electrical wires of street lamps and the cost of electricity.”

Paints reactive to heat, impact or gas

The phosphorescent paint is only one of the many products developed by OliKrom. The startup manufactures a range of specialized pigments: industrial paints and coatings that change color in the presence of a solvent (solvatochrome) or a gas (chemochrome), thermochromic and piezochromic inks that react to a temperature change or to the pressure … For Safran, OliKrom has developed temperature-sensitive coatings to map the temperatures of each component of a running engine. “The color evolves according to the temperatures undergone”, explains Jean François Létard. Airbus, for its part, demanded a piezochromic paint to locate a shock on the frame of an aircraft. Which make the inspection of the cabin much easier! The startup is also considering extending this application to the automotive, wind energy industry and water sports. On the rise, OliKrom has just opened its first production site near Pessac, in the New Aquitaine Region.

OliKrom's intelligent pigments react to pressure, temperature or gases. © OliKrom

OliKrom’s intelligent pigments react to pressure, temperature or gases. © OliKrom

Olikrom, in numbers and dates

  • Domain: smart pigments
  • Founder: Jean François Létard
  • Amount of fundraising: 4.8 M€
  • 2005: first international patent
  • 2009: creation of the OliKrom-Adera transfer cell to accompany the maturation of the new generation of revolutionary materials.
  • 2014: creation of OliKrom and the raising of funds (300 k €) to start the industrialization of its smart products
  • 2017: 2nd round of fundraising (€ 4.5 million) to accelerate industrial and commercial development
  • 2018: acquisition of the industrial site, the R & D center and production unit

Link to the french article by Céline Deluzarch, Journalist Futura Sciences

OliKrom : une peinture qui éclaire les routes la nuit

La startup girondine OliKrom a mis au point une peinture phosphorescente qui brille la nuit.

Une idée lumineuse de plus pour l’entreprise spécialisée dans les pigments intelligents réagissant à la chaleur, aux chocs et aux produits chimiques.

« C’est fabuleux, on dirait un trucage », s’enthousiasme le maire de Pessac (Gironde). Depuis le mois d’octobre, les deux kilomètres de piste cyclables qui traversent un sous-bois, dans le quartier de Saige, se transforment un chemin lumineux la nuit tombée. Plus il fait noir, plus ça brille ! Le secret de cette magie ? Une peinture phosphorescente inventée par la startup OliKrom. « Elle contient des pigments chimiques qui absorbent la lumière du soleil et la restituent la nuit », explique Jean François Létard, son fondateur. « On voit la route se dessiner entre 50 et 100 mètres de plus qu’avec une signalisation traditionnelle » ajoute le dirigeant, ancien directeur de recherche à l’Institut de chimie de la matière condensée de Bordeaux (ICMCB), dépendant du CNRS. L’effet phosphorescent dure environ dix heures, de quoi largement tenir toute la nuit. La formule de la peinture, dont la mise en oeuvre a été confiée à Eiffage, est classée top secret.

La peinture phosphorescente inventée par la startup Olikrom contient des pigments qui éclairent la route jusqu’à 100 mètres. © Olikrom

La peinture phosphorescente inventée par la startup Olikrom contient des pigments qui éclairent la route jusqu’à 100 mètres. © Olikrom

Éviter des travaux de câblage électrique

La peinture phosphorescente est à présent en cours d’homologation pour le marquage routier. « On va pourvoir équiper tous les endroits à risque, comme les passages piétons, les dos d’ânes, les virages dangereux, les arrêts de bus ou les bretelles d’autoroute », énumère Jean François Létard. Idéal aussi dans les petits villages, les routes de campagne souvent mal éclairées, ou encore pour délimiter les places d’un parking. Le prix au litre est bien entendu plus élevé, « mais cela ne peut pas se comparer avec une simple peinture blanche, insiste Jean François Létard. Notre peinture permet d’éviter tous les frais d’infrastructure comme le câblage pour faire passer les fils électriques des lampadaires et le coût de l’électricité ».

Des peintures réactives à la chaleur, aux chocs ou aux gaz

La peinture phosphorescente n’est qu’un des nombreux produits mis au point par OliKrom. La startup fabrique toute une gamme de pigments spécialisés : peintures et revêtements industriels qui changent de couleur en présence d’un solvant (solvatochrome) ou d’un gaz (chimiochrome), encres thermochromes et piézochromes qui réagissent à un changement de couleur ou à la pression… Pour Safran, OliKrom a ainsi développé des revêtements thermosensibles qui permettent de cartographier les températures de chaque composant d’un moteur en fonctionnement. « La couleur évolue en fonction des températures subies », explique Jean François Létard. Airbus a, de son côté, demandé une peinture piézochromique permettant de localiser un choc sur l’ossature d’un avion. De quoi rendre l’inspection de la carlingue bien plus facile ! La startup songe d’ailleurs à étendre cette application à l’automobile, à l’éolien et au nautisme. En plein essor, OliKrom vient d’ouvrir son premier site de production près de Pessac, en Nouvelle-Aquitaine.

Les pigments intelligents d’OliKrom réagissent à la pression, à la température ou aux gaz. © OliKrom

Les pigments intelligents d’OliKrom réagissent à la pression, à la température ou aux gaz. © OliKrom

Olikrom, en chiffres et en dates

  • Domaine : pigments intelligents
  • Fondateur : Jean François Létard
  • Montant des levées de fonds : 4,8 M€
  • 2005 : premier brevet international
  • 2009 : création de la cellule de transfert OliKrom-Adera pour accompagner la maturation de la nouvelle génération de matériaux révolutionnaires.
  • 2014 : création d’OliKrom et 1e levée de fonds (300 k€) pour amorcer l’industrialisation de ses produits intelligents
  • 2017 : 2e levée de fonds (4,5 M€) pour accélérer le développement industriel et commercial
  • 2018 : acquisition du site industriel, du centre R&D et unité de production

Lien vers l’article de Céline Deluzarch, Journaliste Futura Sciences