TV7 Video, the Sud-Ouest Newspaper presents: the first luminescent cycle track was inaugurated

This luminous floor marking, unique in France, helps to enhance the safety of cyclists.

The bike path connects the university campus of Pessac to the Avenue de Saige. ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

The bike path connects the university campus of Pessac to the Avenue de Saige. ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

First in France, a luminous bike path thanks to a painting that stores sunlight and restores it at night, was inaugurated last Monday in Pessac. This route connects the university campus to Avenue de Saige.

This photoluminescent road, which aims to enhance road safety, consists of a bright green floor marking, thanks to a road paint developed by OliKrom. The company from Gironde produces itself its magic inks and paintings. They change color depending on light, temperature and pressure. Smart pigments “guarantee a luminous intensity that lasts all night“, asserts Jean-François Létard, the boss of the start-up. It was the winner, along with Eiffage, of the Roads for the Future call for projects, launched by Ademe in 2017.

A failure in the Netherlands

A first experience of luminescent painting was tried a few years ago in the Netherlands but it was a failure very quickly, our road marking is durable, it is resistant to UV, heavy goods traffic and humidity” says François Olard, research and innovation director of the Eiffage group, which has partnered with OliKrom to develop this patented technology.

The painting stores sunlight and restores it at night. PHOTO CREDIT: ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

The painting stores sunlight and restores it at night. PHOTO CREDIT: ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

Ultimately, this photoluminescent paint will enhance road safety by improving the visibility of horizontal and vertical road markings (emergency stop lanes, crosswalks, bike paths …) at night as well as with deteriorating weather conditions.

The marking will improve the visibility at night from about 50 to 100 meters, it will trace the road off, beyond the headlights, and allow the user to anticipate his actions,” said François Olard.

The public works group Eiffage is preparing to commercialize this painting.

Like to the French Sud-Ouest Newspaper

Vidéo de TV7, l’article Sud-Ouest présente : la première piste cyclable luminescente a été inaugurée

Ce marquage au sol lumineux, unique en France, permet de renforcer la sécurité des cyclistes.

La piste cyclable relie le campus universitaire de Pessac à l'avenue de Saige. ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

La piste cyclable relie le campus universitaire de Pessac à l’avenue de Saige. ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

 

Première en France, une piste cyclable lumineuse grâce à une peinture qui stocke la lumière du soleil et la restitue la nuit, a été inaugurée lundi à Pessac. Cette voie relie le campus universitaire à l’avenue de Saige.

Cette route photoluminescente, dont l’objectif est de renforcer la sécurité routière, est constituée d’un marquage au sol lumineux de couleur verte, grâce à une peinture routière mise au point par Olikrom. La société girondine produit elle-même ses encres et peintures magiques. Elles changent de couleur en fonction de la lumière, la température et la pression. Les pigments intelligents « garantissent une intensité lumineuse qui dure toute la nuit« , assure Jean-François Létard, le patron de la start-up. Celle-ci a été lauréate, avec Eiffage, de l’appel à projets Routes du futur, lancé par l’Ademe en 2017.

Un échec aux Pays-Bas

« Une première expérience de peinture luminescente a été tentée il y a quelques années aux Pays-Bas mais cela a très vite été un échec. Notre marquage routier est durable, il résiste aux UV, au trafic des poids lourds et à l’humidité« , affirme François Olard, directeur recherche et innovation du groupe Eiffage qui s’est associé à Olikrom pour développer cette technologie brevetée.

La peinture stocke la lumière du soleil et la restitue la nuit. CRÉDIT PHOTO : ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU

La peinture stocke la lumière du soleil et la restitue la nuit. CRÉDIT PHOTO : ARCHIVES THOMAS DUSSEAU


À terme, cette peinture photoluminescente permettra de renforcer la sécurité routière en améliorant la visibilité du marquage routier horizontal et vertical (bandes d’arrêt d’urgence, passages piétons, pistes cyclables …) de nuit comme avec des conditions météorologiques dégradées. 

« Le marquage va améliorer la visibilité la nuit d’environ 50 à 100 mètres. Il va tracer la route au loin, au-delà des phares, et permettre à l’usager d’anticiper ses actions« , a expliqué François Olard.

Le groupe de travaux publics Eiffage s’apprête à commercialiser cette peinture.

Lien vers l’article du Sud-Ouest