Sterilization, nosocomial infections and color intelligence

Infections contracted during a hospital stay, known as nosocomial, have been considered in France as a major public health problem since 1988.

Faced with the need to react effectively, France has established mandatory bodies, the CLIN (Committees against Nosocomial Infections), in charge of monitoring and combating these particular infections.

A NATIONAL ISSUE

According to the data collected by the CLINs, it is estimated that in France nosocomial infections affect 5% of hospitalizations, directly and indirectly resulting in 4,000 annual deaths [1]. Our European neighbors are not spared and experience the same difficulties, nosocomial infections generate health expenses estimated at 7 billion euros per year [2].

This problem is all the more important as the most affected patients are the most fragile. Indeed, CLINs have noted a preponderance among in infants, children and the elderly [3].

In order to coordinate the actions implemented in hospitals and the follow-up, the CLINs have created several indicators, including ICALIN (Composite Index of Nosocomial Infection Control Activities) and ICA-LISO (Composite Indicator of Infection Control in the Operational Room). These two indicators evaluate the resources committed by a hospital against the fight against nosocomial infections.

These two indicators come together on several themes, one of the most important is the sterilization of medical devices [4,5]. The CLINs, through these indicators, issue a number of recommendations and thus focus on the importance of sterilization in the prevention of nosocomial infections.

VISUALLY ENSURE STERILIZATION

The impact of sterilization on nosocomial infections is recognized and documented. Sterilization is crucial in the reuse of medical devices in hospitals. This process represents a guarantee of safety of use for both the patient and the staff.

OliKrom‘s innovative technologies address the safety of this process in a new light. Our color change solutions offer opportunities to simplify verification while operating completely autonomously.

The sterilization process is usually carried out by heat, either during the cleaning-disinfection step or during sterilization itself. Our ThermoKrom® technology is particularly relevant for this process. This solution changes color at a temperature calibrated according to the operating conditions. Therefore, it becomes possible to judge visually if individually each medical device has been exposed to optimal conditions.

In addition, the sealing of the containers used during sterilization is equally important. A PiezoKrom® solution, changing color at the pressure, would be ideal to check that the seal receives the proper pressure on its whole surface.

In this increasingly important medical safety context, OliKrom supports manufacturers in their innovation process, from idea to current production, developing a “tailor-made” solution thanks to the intelligence of colors.

OliKrom team is composed of experts (doctors, engineers and technicians) specialized in smart pigments. We are at your disposal…. 

                                                                                                     Let’s innovate together

Stérilisation, infections nosocomiales et intelligence des couleurs

Les infections contractées lors d’un séjour hospitalier, dites nosocomiales, sont considérées en France comme un problème majeur de santé publique depuis 1988.

Devant la nécessité de réagir efficacement, la France s’est dotée d’instances obligatoires, les CLIN (Comités de Lutte contre les Infections Nosocomiales), en charge du suivi et de la lutte contre ces infections particulières.

UN ENJEU NATIONAL

D’après les données récoltées par les CLIN il est estimé qu’en France les infections nosocomiales touchent 5% des hospitalisations, entraînant directement et indirectement 4 000 décès annuels [1]. Nos voisins européens ne sont pas épargnés et connaissent les mêmes difficultés, les infections nosocomiales engendrent des dépenses évaluées à 7 milliards d’euros par an [2].

Cette problématique est d’autant plus importante que les patients les plus touchés sont les plus fragiles. En effet, les CLIN ont noté une prépondérance de cas chez les nourrissons, enfants et personnes âgées [3].

De manière à coordonner les actions mises en place en milieu hospitalier, ainsi que leur suivi, les CLIN ont créé plusieurs indicateurs dont ICALIN (Indice Composite des Activités de Lutte contre les Infections Nosocomiales) et ICA-LISO (Indicateur Composite de Lutte contre les Infections du Site Opératoire). Ces deux indicateurs évaluent les moyens engagés par un établissement hospitalier contre la lutte des infections nosocomiales.

Ces deux indicateurs se rejoignent sur plusieurs thématiques, dont l’une des plus importantes : la stérilisation des dispositifs médicaux [4,5]. Les CLIN, au travers de ces indicateurs, émettent un certain nombre de recommandations et s’attardent ainsi sur l’importance de la stérilisation dans la prévention des infections nosocomiales.

S’ASSURER VISUELLEMENT DE LA STERILISATION

L’impact de la stérilisation sur les infections nosocomiales est reconnu et documenté. La stérilisation est cruciale dans le cadre de la réutilisation des dispositifs médicaux en milieu hospitalier. Ce procédé représente un gage de sécurité d’utilisation à la fois pour le patient et pour le personnel.

Les technologies innovantes d’OliKrom abordent sous un nouvel angle la sécurité de ce procédé. Nos solutions à changement de couleur offre des opportunités pour simplifier la vérification tout en fonctionnant de manière complètement autonome.

Le procédé de stérilisation est généralement réalisé grâce à la chaleur, que ce soit durant l’étape de nettoyage-désinfection ou durant la stérilisation même. Notre technologie ThermoKrom® s’avère particulièrement pertinente pour ce procédé. Cette solution change de couleur à une température calibrée en fonction des conditions opératoires. Dès lors, il devient possible de juger visuellement si individuellement chaque dispositif médical a été exposé aux conditions optimales.

En outre, l’étanchéité des contenants utilisés lors de la stérilisation est tout aussi primordiale. Une solution PiezoKrom®, changeant de couleur à la pression, serait idéale pour vérifier que le joint reçoive la pression adéquate sur son ensemble.

Dans ce contexte de sécurité médicale toujours plus importante, OliKrom accompagne les industriels dans leur démarche d’innovation, de l’idée jusqu’à la production récurrente, en développant une solution « sur-mesure » grâce à l’intelligence des couleurs.

L’équipe d’OliKrom est composée de docteurs, ingénieurs et de techniciens. Nous sommes à votre disposition … 

                                                                                                                Innovons ensemble